Page 5 of 11  
Recent Reviews
 

Rob B.

Scottsdale, AZ

Dec 07, 2009

 
 
 
 
 
Decker Communications

San Francisco, CA

I attended the Decker Communications Made to Stick class last week and it was incredibly valuable. The Made to Stick class is a one day class designed to help you create messaging that "sticks" with your audience. So whether you're giving a sales presentation, sending out an internal email, or updating your web content, this class helps you to create messages that stick with your audience long after the meeting, the email, or visiting your web site.

I've been to many different training classes over the years and this was by far the most organized and engaging class that I've been to. They ask that you show up to the class with a one to two minute pitch. You'll be video taped in the morning (you're opening pitch) and spend the rest of the day applying the concepts learned in the class to make your pitch better and more sticky. By the end of the day you'll be taped again to see the improvement.

In our class we worked in teams of six people to help refine one another's pitches as we went through the class. By the end of the day, I left with some messaging that was ten times better than when I showed up and could be put in to action the next day.

The instructor, Kelly, was fantastic and the whole session was incredibly professional and well organized. If you're in corporate marketing or sales, I highly recommend that you take this class and call Decker Communications.

Andrew B.

Sunnyvale, CA

Dec 05, 2009

 
 
 
 
 
Bogart's Lounge

Sunnyvale, CA

Bogart's Lounge is a great place to go out and have fun in the evenings without having to deal with the usual dive bar crowd. They have karaoke in the evenings on Wed, Fri, and Sun if that is what you are into. I love to play pool, and there is usually a few people there that love a good competition. It does get crowded in the evenings on the weekends, so If you want to get to play, it is best to get there a little early.Weekdays are less crowded, So you can always get some games in, while enjoying a beer or two. They have Wi-Fi, so you can always use your laptop there if needed.

Rob B.

Scottsdale, AZ

Dec 04, 2009

 
 
 
 
 
Gray's Paint & Wallpaper

Burlingame, CA

Gray's Paint store in Burlingame is a great place to go when you're looking for Benjamin Moore paints. I've been there several times now and always find the folks that work there to be extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

They have an outstanding selection of paints including a new designer series called C2 that's pretty cool. A little more expensive but a great color palette to choose from. The C2 paint will require two coats but didn't require a primer. I painted over a blue wall with a new tan color and managed to get by just fine with only two coats.

Only complaint would be the hours they are open on the weekend (Saturday until 4, Sunday closed).

Gail M.

Burlingame, CA

Dec 01, 2009

 
 
 
 
Masu

San Mateo, CA

Masu is one of my favorite little sushi restaurants in San Mateo. They always have fresh fish and make some really great rolls. Great value for your money as well.

Austin D.

San Diego, CA

Nov 23, 2009

 
 
 
 
 
Pet Pals Discount Pet Supplies Inc

Soquel, CA

Review is for ONLINE PURCHASE experience only

Wow! After scouring the interwebs for the best deal on "fancy" pet food (Innova Evo), I settled on http://westcoastpetsup... (Pet Pals' online presence) and couldn't be more delighted with my experience!

PROS:
- High end brands: They carry a lot of them
- Unbelievably fast. Placed late morning, the order was processed and shipped the same day. With UPS Ground it got here in 2 days; got several email confirmations when order was processed, and again when it shipped
- CHEAP! Even with the 9% CA sales tax, it wound up being cheaper than most other out of state sellers who don't charge sales tax (not to mention it created less of a carbon footprint from not having to travel as far)
- Items arrived in perfect shape. (In orders from other online pet supply sites, I've gotten dented merchandise.)

CONS: (null)

Austin D.

San Diego, CA

Nov 23, 2009

 
 
 
 
Sushi Sam's Edomata

San Mateo, CA

Great sushi + exceptional service!

The sushi is really fresh and expertly prepared, and is well-priced for the quality; I ordered a bluefin nigiri which was the special that evening, and it melted in my mouth.

Sushi Sam's accommodated our rowdy four-top with good nature. We got there towards the time it was closing, but the establishment stayed open late and even made us some more rolls even after they "closed the kitchen." We were never shooed out or made to feel uncomfortable. They even brought us another kettle of hot tea right up until we left.

Even though I think we overstayed our welcome, taking photos and lollygagging, the chef came over to our table and had fun with us.

Next time I'm in the San Mateo area, I will definitely stop back to Sam's!

Austin D.

San Diego, CA

Nov 23, 2009

 
 
Ould Sod

San Diego, CA

At the risk of being ostracized by my "regular" friends, though, there were some serious issues I have with the joint:
- You still have to BRIBE the karaoke-master/mistress. I thought that was a unique thing that the jokers at Lamplighter do, but apparently it's a universal, or at least a SD thing. Money talks, BS gets bumped to the bottom of the list (or, rather, not added at all)!

- The staff (the karaoke master and at least one of the other staff) gets up there and sings. Now I'm all for everyone having some fun, but on a Saturday night, when there is an "hour and fifteen minutes" wait as I was told when I gave my request, then the staff goes up there and sings some numbers, THAT AIN'T RIGHT. (note to self: call Turko files)

- This place is not a dive bar. Drinks were not "dive bar" cheap ($5.50 for a draught pint); plus the bathrooms were clean. I didn't have to hold my breath or anything while in there! By my reckoning, that makes this place a faux dive.

All in all, it was a fun night, though, but much more so because of the company than the establishment itself.

Austin D.

San Diego, CA

Nov 23, 2009

 
 
 
 
Ritual Tavern

San Diego, CA

This is quickly becoming one of my new favorite neighborhood spots.

Unique pub-fare-with-a-conscience as most of the ingredients are locally grown ("local" is the new "organic", dont'cha know). The ketchup and mustard are each great and are housemade! (That's right, I just raved about condiments, but there really hasn't been much innovation here well, since, the first 56 varieties were introduced.)

As an a-quadro-pedi-tarian (I don't eat anything that walks on four legs), I find the menu to be a bit limited, but it's still got some good items for me to enjoy (the portobello mushroom sandwich, onion rings are both noteworthy and tasty!) Sorry I can't review the beef, but I bet some other reviewers have that well-covered.

Overall it's a smidge pricey but well worth a visit, espeically with happy hour specials on their unique selection of mostly local draft brews from 5:30 to 7:30pm.

One small nit: the cheese board wasn't that great; one of the cheeses they served on a particular visit had fennel or something, not good. And it seemed smallish portions of each cheese. However the server brought us some extra bread which was great, so that made up for it.

Great outdoor patio, dog friendly, knowledgeable and friendly (but not overbearing) staff.

Make it part of your weekly ritual! (Sorry, couldn't resist, you may throw your locally grown tomatoes now).

Austin D.

San Diego, CA

Nov 23, 2009

 
 
 
 
 
Kous Kous Moroccan Bistro

San Diego, CA

This jewel is tucked away in the basement level of a gaudy 80's style building in Hillcrest. This is one case where the adage "Don't judge a book by its cover" has never rung truer.

Why does this establishment earn the coveted 5-stars? Simply put, it gets everything right. The owner, Moumen (like "Newman") is friendly, ambitious, creative, passionate, and knows how to cook great Moroccan food.

The decor was authentic and intimate without being obnoxious.

We began with a few appetizers, and my friend ordered the "Menu II" tasting, a five course meal.

The soup was tasty (I find vegetarian soups usually lacking in flavor; not the case here).

Then on to an eggplant dish, some skewers, and the b'stila. Oh the b'stila. It's a savory pastry made with chicken, phyllo dough, spices and sugar and cinnamon. When I recounted my experience at Marrakesh (I took the pic of the bastilla with the camel on it in the Yelp review), Moumen proceeded to explain the intricacies of making b'stila. The time he spent chatting with us and the other customers was another demonstration of his dedication to his craft and to his restaurant.

For the entree, I ate the fish special, a halibut and shrimp dish served in a savory sauce which was perfectly spiced and seasoned. Listening to Moumen explain the subtleties of using the right amount of exotic spices just added to the experience, even though by then I had already licked my plate clean. My friend had the lamb shank which melted off the bone.

What I appreciate about Kous Kous is how they are taking a different, more modern approach than traditional Moroccan restaurants. No cheesy overwrought music. No belly dancers (not that there's anything wrong with that). Just really good food in a fine dining atmosphere. The tapas menu is also something Kous Kous is innovating (as it's not traditionally done with Moroccan cuisine). On subsequent visits I will be sure to order from that menu.

While I agree with other reviewers that it is a bit on the pricey side, Moumen pointed out (and was obvious after eating the meal) that this type of cuisine is very labor intensive. And it was worth every penny.

Oh, and free (validated) parking.

Michael G.

Oakland, CA

Nov 23, 2009

 
 
 
 
 
Penguini Gelato

Paia, HI

Dropped in at Penguini Gelato which is conveniently located adjacent to the Paia Inn courtyard, between the gas station and the art gallery. The friendly proprietress Melissa offered me tastes of her wide range of hand made gelato and I quickly opted for a double of Haiku-grown cherimoya and mocha, while she let me know about her sorbets and truffles. Penguini is also a great place to get coffee, featuring cafe vita espresso, and to mingle with Paia Inn guests and staff. Open 12:30-8:30pm Tue-Sun.